MINUTES IACR BOARD MEETING VIRTUAL-12 2024

17 DECEMBER 2024

1. OPENING MATTERS

1.1. **Welcome, roll of attendees, identification of proxies.** At 15:04 UTC the President opens the meeting and briefly goes around for an introductory round, confirming attendees and establishing who is holding proxies.

There are 21 full time attendees with the following proxies: Abdalla holds Halevi's proxy (when absent), Poettering holds Hesse's proxy (when absent), Wesolowski holds Naya-Plasencia's proxy, Preneel holds Rijmen's proxy, Yang holds Schwabe's proxy (when absent), Halevi, then Abdalla, hold Yung's proxy.

1.1.1. Roll of Attendees.

Attendees (Elected). Michel Abdalla (President 2023-2025); Allison Bishop (Vice President 2023-2025); Brian LaMacchia (Treasurer 2023-2025, RWC Steering Committee); Benjamin Wesolowski (Secretary 2023-2025); Shai Halevi (Director 2023-2025); Anna Lysyanskaya (Director 2022-2024); Bart Preneel (Director 2023-2025, Program Chair Contact); Francisco Rodríguez-Henríquez (Director 2024-2026); Peter Schwabe (Director 2023-2025, CHES Steering Committee); Bo-Yin Yang (Director 2022-2024);

Attendees (Appointed). Dario Fiore (Eurocrypt 2025 General Chair (2024-2025)); Julia Hesse (Eurocrypt 2024 General Chair (2023-2024)); Tancrède Lepoint (Crypto 2024 General Chair (2023-2024)); Bertram Poettering (Membership Secretary 2023-2025);

Attendees (Representatives and Others). Masayuki Abe (Asiacrypt Steering Committee); Tal Malkin (TCC Steering Committee);

Absentees (Elected). Jian Guo (Director 2022-2024); María Naya-Plasencia (Director 2024-2026); Moti Yung (Director 2021-2023, *PKC* Steering Committee);

Absentees (Appointed). Foteini Baldimtsi (Communications Secretary 2023-2025); Joseph Liu (Asiacrypt 2025 General Chair (2024-2025)); Vincent Rijmen (Journal of Cryptology Editor-in-Chief 2024-2026); Bimal Roy (Asiacrypt 2024 General Chair 2023-2024);

Absentees (Representatives and Others). Gregor Leander (FSE Steering Committee); Kevin McCurley (Database Administrator); Hilarie Orman (Archivist); Tal Rabin (Code-of-conduct Liaison); Yu Yu (Webmaster);

2. Topics

- 2.1. **Proposals for Eurocrypt 2027.** Two proposals for *Eurocrypt 2027* are under consideration, and the Board needs to select one:
 - (1) In April 2027, at the Eindhoven University of Technology, or
 - (2) In May 2027, at a convention centre in Rotterdam.

Dates. The proposed dates for Eindhoven in April are earlier than those of recent editions of *Eurocrypt*. These dates take advantage of the availability of the academic venue during the spring break. As a direct consequence, fixed costs are lower, allowing for reduced registration fees compared to recent editions of *Eurocrypt*.

However, there may be a scheduling conflict with *RWC* 2027: the projected dates for RWC are one week before those proposed for Eindhoven, and would take place on another continent (North America). Attending both might be challenging or even impossible. Some adjustments could minimize the conflict. For example, could the *Eurocrypt*-affiliated events be held *after* the main event?

The proposal in Rotterdam is aligned with the usual period for Eurocrypt, in May.

Venue. The venue in Rotterdam is a convention center, similar to recent editions of *Eurocrypt*. In contrast, the venue in Eindhoven is a university. Its main downside is the lack of an auditorium large enough to seat all attendees: plenary sessions might require multicasting across auditoriums. Such multicasting was tested at *RWC* 2024: while not ideal, it is feasible.

Registration fees. The lower fixed costs of the Eindhoven proposal, due to the academic venue, result in significantly lower registration fees: the estimated registration fees are about half the Rotterdam estimate.

1

2 17 DECEMBER 2024

Vote. The President first calls for a vote of approval. The Board agrees that both are excellent proposals, and both are formally approved. Next, the President calls for a vote to select one of them.

Decision 1. The proposal to host Eurocrypt 2027 at the Eindhoven University of Technology is selected.

The Eindhoven proposal is selected, but the President emphasizes that there was extensive discussion about the dates. The Board encourages further investigation into the possibility of moving the event one week later.

2.2. **Code of Conduct.** Bishop introduces the next item on the agenda. She has begun working on an update and expansion of the IACR Code of Conduct. She presents the following question to the Board: What should be the scope of the Code of Conduct? Should it apply only to IACR events, or should it extend to our publications? Should it cover ICW events (*in cooperation with IACR*)?

After some discussion, the Board agrees that the revised Code of Conduct should focus on IACR events. Issues related to conduct at events are distinct from those concerning publications. For ICW events, rather than imposing our own Code of Conduct, it seems preferable to encourage (or require) events to adopt a similar policy. The Board also notes that the Code of Conduct should remain reasonably concise, as attendees are required to certify that they have read it. A possible approach is to start with a brief core statement, followed by additional details and examples of inappropriate behavior.

3. UPDATE ON CONFERENCES

Malkin reports on *TCC 2024*. All went well. There was a high number of attendees, both at the main event and at the workshop in honor of Luca Trevisan.

Asiacrypt 2024 also went well, with an attendance in line with previous years. However, many attendees were unable to obtain a visa to enter India. Chinese members were the most affected, but other nationalities also had issues. In case of visa issues, the IACR can refund registration fees, but cannot help with the surrounding expenses (like travel and accommodation).

4. CLOSING MATTERS

The President announces that this meeting is the last for three Board Members: Julia Hesse (*Eurocrypt 2024* General Chair, 2023-2024), Tancrède Lepoint (*Crypto 2024* General Chair, 2023-2024), and Bimal Roy (*Asiacrypt 2024* General Chair, 2023-2024). The Board thanks them for their service to the IACR. The President also congratulates Jian Guo, Anna Lysyanskaya, and Bo-Yin Yang, who have reached the end of their term as Directors, but have been reelected for a new term.

The President closes the meeting officially at 16:35 UTC.