International Association for Cryptologic Research

International Association
for Cryptologic Research



Christof Beierle , Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum, Germany
Jérémy Jean , Agence nationale de la sécurité des systèmes d’information (ANSSI), Paris, France
Stefan Kölbl , Independent
Gregor Leander , Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum, Germany
Amir Moradi , Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum, Germany
Thomas Peyrin , School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Nanyang Technological University, Jurong West, Singapore
Yu Sasaki , NTT Secure Platform Laboratories, Tokyo, Japan
Pascal Sasdrich , Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum, Germany
Siang Meng Sim , School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Nanyang Technological University, Jurong West, Singapore
DOI: 10.13154/tosc.v2020.iS1.88-131
Search ePrint
Search Google
Abstract: We present the family of authenticated encryption schemes SKINNY-AEAD and the family of hashing schemes SKINNY-Hash. All of the schemes employ a member of the SKINNY family of tweakable block ciphers, which was presented at CRYPTO 2016, as the underlying primitive. In particular, for authenticated encryption, we show how to instantiate members of SKINNY in the Deoxys-I-like ΘCB3 framework to fulfill the submission requirements of the NIST lightweight cryptography standardization process. For hashing, we use SKINNY to build a function with larger internal state and employ it in a sponge construction. To highlight the extensive amount of third-party analysis that SKINNY obtained since its publication, we briefly survey the existing cryptanalysis results for SKINNY-128-256 and SKINNY-128-384 as of February 2020. In the last part of the paper, we provide a variety of ASIC implementations of our schemes and propose new simple SKINNY-AEAD and SKINNY-Hash variants with a reduced number of rounds while maintaining a very comfortable security margin.
Video from TOSC 2020
  title={SKINNY-AEAD and SKINNY-Hash},
  journal={IACR Transactions on Symmetric Cryptology},
  publisher={Ruhr-Universität Bochum},
  volume={2020, Special Issue 1},
  author={Christof Beierle and Jérémy Jean and Stefan Kölbl and Gregor Leander and Amir Moradi and Thomas Peyrin and Yu Sasaki and Pascal Sasdrich and Siang Meng Sim},