International Association for Cryptologic Research

IACR Fellows

IACR has established the IACR Fellows Program to recognize outstanding IACR members for technical and professional contributions that:
  1. Advance the science, technology, and practice of cryptology and related fields;
  2. Promote the free exchange of ideas and information about cryptology and related fields;
  3. Develop and maintain the professional skill and integrity of individuals in the cryptologic community;
  4. Advance the standing of the cryptologic community in the wider scientific and technical world and promote fruitful relationships between the IACR and other scientific and technical organizations.

In general, two broad categories of accomplishment will be considered: technical contributions and distinguished service to the cryptologic community. Fellows are expected to be "model citizens" of the cryptologic community, and thus most of them will have demonstrated sustained and significant accomplishment in both categories, but a very small number may be chosen for unique and crucial accomplishment in one category only.

The number of Fellows to be selected in any one year is expected to be approximately 0.25% and should not exceed 0.5% of the total current membership.

For more information see the IACR Fellows-Program description. The program was approved by the IACR membership in 2002.



Important: Starting 2018, nominations for IACR fellows are now due November 15.
We hope that you will consider devoting some of your time and effort to nominating or endorsing an IACR-Fellow candidate. Please note that the nominator, nominee, and at least one endorser must be IACR members (or Fellows). Please verify membership by corresponding with the membership secretariat at . Nominations and endorsements are due on November 15. All necessary information can be found by following these links:

IACR Fellows Selection Committee 2018

  • Eli Biham (Technion)
  • Ronald Cramer (CWI & Leiden University)
  • Kwangjo Kim (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology)
  • Anna Lysyanskaya (Brown University)
  • Chair: Chris Peikert (University of Michigan)

Previous committee members

  • Gilles Brassard (Université de Montréal) 2013-2016 (chair: 2016)
  • Ivan Damgaard (Aarhus University) 2004-2007 (chair: 2005)
  • Cynthia Dwork (Microsoft Research) 2004-2009 (chair: 2008)
  • Joan Feigenbaum (Yale University) 2004-2006 (chair: 2004)
  • Hugo Krawczyk (IBM Research) 2004-2010 (chair: 2007)
  • Arjen Lenstra (EPFL) 2011-2014 (chair: 2012)
  • Ueli Maurer (ETH) 2010-2016 (chair: 2011)
  • Kevin McCurley (Google) 2012-2014 (chair: 2014)
  • Tatsuaki Okamoto (NTT) 2008-2012 (chair: 2010)
  • Phil Rogaway (UC Davis) 2013-2015 (chair: 2015)
  • Moti Yung (Google Inc and Columbia University) 2007-2011 (chair: 2009)
  • Michael Wiener (Cryptographic Clarity) 2004-2009 (chair: 2006)
  • Ron Rivest (MIT) 2010-2012

Contact information

The chair of the Fellows Selection Committee can be reached by email at .